Lykaion – Nothin’ but death 2012

October 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

Reviewed by Dylan Raine

Artist: Lykaion
Album: Nothin’ But Death
Label: Bakerteam Records
Date of Release: 19th June 2012

1. Nothin’ But Death
2. A Cold Summer Day
3. Free from all your fears
4. Empty
5. The Dance
6. Fuck You (I Love Myself)
7. Passion Kills
8. Sick Love
9. Together
10. Dimenticherai

Coming straight out from Italy, Lykaion are making their presence and fury well known all over the world with their latest instalment of shear exhilaration ‘Nothin’ But Death’. Mixing styles and influences built around Heavy Metal, Thrash, Hard Rock and Gothic the music takes the listener into the extraordinary view of the artist and is given a small insight into what makes this band “Tick”.

The album ‘Nothin’ But Death’ was recorded and mixed at 16th Cellar Studios by Stefano “Saul” Morabito (Fleshgod Apocalypse, Adimiron, Hour Of Penance) and mastered at Fascination Street Studios by Jens Borgren (Katatonia, Opeth, Symphony X, Paradise Lost, Amon Amarth). The Cover artwork was handled by Sergio Monfrinotti (Adhiira Art).

As you first enter this album you are taken aback by the mixture of styles and combinations of jumping in and out of musical characteristics and contexts. It does seem very confusing for a first track but if you put that aside it does get better, much better! As you hit the second track with the haunting melody lines before half chop/gallop heavy muting kicks in and the vocals take control of the track it really becomes alive. As ‘A Cold Summer Day’ progresses it opens itself up to the most beautiful melodies and features ever to be present in one setting, and as it ends everything becomes clear.

As far as good intros go ‘Empty’ certainly did it for me. This could quite possibly be one of the most enticing song starters you will ever experience before you are taken into the song and the complexities that surround it. Super expressive vocals and the intricacies of the music is simply astonishing in every word, you are then given beautiful Blues driven soloing which if you have ever appreciated pure tonality in its richest form then you’ll love this. By far my favourite song on this album!

As you do progress through the album it simply gets better and better, more complex and much more intense. Everything you have ever wanted musically from one band is pretty much delivered here. From high strength vocals, super creative riffs and wonderful melodies to the most exotic soloing and expressions. This is simply an album to be heard!



Alessandro Sforza – Vocals/Guitar
Fabio Valentini – Guitar
Alessandro Esposito – Bass
Andrea Alberati- Drums


Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lykaion – Nothin’ but death 2012 at Dylan Raine.


%d bloggers like this: